RDrake’s anime roamings


Steps to improvement.
September 8, 2006, 4:00 pm
Filed under: Anime, Reviews, Web

It appears that everytime I chuck another anime review into here, I get a little jump in visitor traffic. This means quite a lot to a guy who averages only 25 visits a day, or somewhere around there…

By rights this should mean that I am going to put up more anime reviews. Unfortunately, my hands are a little tied at the moment, and I can’t do much. But I’ll stick around, and hopefully there’ll be a little more activity here…

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I usually get hits around the 40~60 range. Had two days when it somehow jumped and I ended up with 128 and 87. My feeds are jumping up and down, but they’re really dropping in overall.

Always thought it’d help if you go for originality (like my music reviews or those occasional “rants”), but that’s not the case. I don’t get a lot hits for my episode reviews either.

At the moment, I think game related posts were the most rewarding. And the “list of songs I have” page really helped tricking people into visiting my site through search engines.

That and…you can frequent some of the popular blogs and leave comments with a link back to your site. One of the blogs on BlogSuki/AnimeNano actually linked to me. Not much help from it so far. I only get 1 view from it in the referrer box. I only had 4 views on the first day I got linked.

Comment by aurabolt

okay, I think I get why the anime reviews help for you. Usually they’re the only entries that are cut off with the ‘click to read more’ link. It really helps to try and get people to click and go to a page on your blog instead of letting them just scan through everything on your main page.

Three short entries without more ”more tags” will get you one hit. Three long entries with “more tags” can potential get you up to 4 hits. And 7 hits if they leave comments for all three.

Comment by aurabolt

*potentially

Comment by aurabolt

All that advice…that’s a real bundle. I didn’t know you have to seperate long comments like that.

Well, thanks, then. I’ll try to work things out.

By the way, got a few questions for you. How on earth did you manage to get screencaps? I have no idea how…

Comment by rdrake

Screencaps…it depends what you use.

For Windows Media Player 10, you need a keyboard with the Print Screen. It’s going to take in your whole desktop so you’ll have to just crop the image yourself with Photoshop or wutever.

Windows Media Player Classic is the easiest one. All you have to do is use this version http://www.free-codecs.com/download/Media_Player_Classic.htm just press F5 whenever you want to snap. The file will appear as a bmp on your desktop so you have to convert it jpg yourself.

Image resize is obviously your option. I use 200 width for the small screencaps, and 412 for my big images.

Comment by aurabolt

Just wait, Rank.

Juuuuuuuuuuuuuuust wait. :3

Those Google hits will start looking less like anime, and more like “WTF?!” veeeeeeeeeeery soon.

(Or, I just have bad luck with google hits.) ;_;

Comment by gourry

I think you have very bad luck Gourry…

Either that or your ability to round anything and everything back off to boobs is paying off.

Comment by rdrake




Leave a Reply

