RDrake’s anime roamings


So Gadget Trial = Sky girls?
September 16, 2006, 2:19 pm
Filed under: Games, Games - Reviews

Well, since aurabolt went on to go do something up on the Sky Girls OVA, I decided to do up something on the related game…

Taadaa! Here we are. The related game at hand is called Gadget Trial. Basically, it’s a relatively simple Turn-based Tactical game. Sorta like Advance Wars. Actually, alot more similar than you think. I downloaded the demo for a try, and found it pretty interesting.

From a purely game concept and delivery point of view, this is mediocre. Look, I just compared a PC game to a GBA one…That alone is enough to say alot. But that’s just the game concept, the graphics are at least worth it.

Ok, graphics…What can I say? This game is a cross of Advance Wars and a all all female cast, and well, I’m not complaining…All playable characters are female…Makes for some audiences…Yes, especially with that feature to buy new uniforms…goodness, this is edging a little towards lolicon already….

All in all, not too shabby. The main problem I had with it was all in Japanese, a problem most readers here may have. At least I know Chinese, which helps. And because of that, I’ll be putting up a pictorial guide to the system soon. It’ll give picture by picture explanations of the functions like move, attack, save, and quit, etc, etc, etc…

Now that just leaves a few more things left. Screencaps. I’m pretty sure that’s what you want to see before actually deciding whether or not following up by downloading the demo version (it’s still up, by the way) and trying it out for yourself.

Characters from left to right>>>Izen, infantry. Yu-ri, artillery. Nei, calvary. Hisoka, naval.

And yes, you can’t forget the commander. Ever present whether in anime or games…I think I forgot one character… Oh, Souka, aircraft. Don’t worry, there’s a picture of her up there somewhere…One of the first few I think.

Well, that ought to cover everything I have to say for now. On to work on the pictorial guide…But before I go, I think I’ll leave a few more screenshots…

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Did you notice the commander has Kyon’s voice actor? ^^

Comment by aurabolt

Really?…No wonder the voice seemed so familiar. Just couldn’t quite place it. Maybe that’s because Kyon just isn’t the kind of person you’d expect to lead a troop of girls, after he gets pulled around by the nose by Haruhi…

Ok, I’ll put up that nice little fact in the pictorial guide…I think I spent an hour or so collecting screenshots for that…

Comment by rdrake

The English patch is out! Rejoice!
http://yu-ri.is.moelicious.be for the patch.

This game is rather simple, I admit. But there are some levels I found hard.

Comment by randomshinichi




Leave a Reply

